bleeps & bloops


Electro-Magnetism Episode 17: Scandinavian Winter Happies
November 27, 2011, 3:56 pm
Filed under: Music | Tags: , , ,

(You can download it as well by clicking the little down-arrow on the Soundcloud thingy above.)

It’s time for another mix! I lean towards cheerful music in winter for some reason (see Episode 2). Maybe just to keep my downtrodden sun-craving soul alive and kicking through the darkness.

You can download it above, or subscribe to the podcast using the following URL in iTunes:

http://www.larkisadora.com/electro-magnetism.rss

Tracklist:

  1. Blondes- Synthesist
  2. Pete Shelley- Witness the Change
  3. Eleven Pond- Portugal
  4. Primadonna- Flashing on the Floor
  5. Schmaalhans Weltraum- Samovar
  6. Det Gylne Triangel- Maskindans
  7. Grimes- Oblivion
  8. Com Truise- Sundripped
  9. Heartsrevolution- Teenage Teardrops (Pyramid Remix)
  10. Plastic Mode- NY Life
  11. Alden Tyrell- Hills of Honolulu
  12. Clockwork Orange- Sensation Boys
  13. Moß Garten- Moderna Kvinnor
  14. The Arms of Someone New- Beacon
  15. Big Ben Tribe- Heroes

I recently moved to Sweden and have been exploring some Scandinavian minimal synth lately, so I included some of that in there as well. Originally I wanted to do an all-Scandinavian mix, but I didn’t quite have enough super duper awesome material. Hopefully by next year I’ll be ready!

One of my new favorite compilations is Maskindans: Norsk Synth from Hommage Records in Oslo, which you can buy here. I highly recommend it! From their description:

Tracks from Tromsø up North to Arendal in the South, tracks recorded as early as 1980 and up to 1988, tracks shorter than two minutes and longer than six, spanning dark wave, avant garde, synth pop and most genres in between; songs that were hits on Norwegian radio and songs that have been totally obscure for 20 years or more. Maskindans is an impressively broad and thorough presentation of the finest Norwegian ’80s electronics.

The whole thing is really quite good, and some of the tracks are really addictive. On my mix, the tracks by Clockwork Orange and Det Gylne Triangel were my favorites from this compilation. I found it quite adorable to read that more than half of the first pressings were snapped up by the Norwegian government for use in libraries, all the way from Oslo to the Russian border.

I’ve also been trying to find as much Swedish language music as I can that I actually like. I included these favorites by Schmaalhans Weltraum and Moß Garten, both Swedish bands from the 1980s.

Some of my favorite modern bands of the moment are also featured on here, including Com Truise (who has a really nice looking website, btw) who I see just recently played Stockholm unknown to me (will. now. kill. self.) and Grimes. I have also been getting into Emika, but her music is in no way perky enough to fit on this mix. Perhaps after my perky wears off and I start wearing sunglasses and black velvet in the darkest depths of winter, I’ll make another mix more suitable to her. (Sounds fun!) But for now, here’s a very nice remix of a song from her recent self-titled debut.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment