bleeps & bloops


Latest obsession among many… Martial Canterel
September 23, 2007, 4:27 pm
Filed under: Music, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , ,

confusing outsides
(cover for Confusing Outsides)

I never really gave a hoot about this local fellow until I heard him DJ at Wierd at Home Sweet Home a month or so ago. I was enjoying his set which was full of carefully selected unique minimal wave tunes and then there was one that seemed like it had just landed from another planet. My friend and I turned to each other with a mutual look of “what IS this?!” and ran up to the DJ booth to ask him. In a humorously humble way he showed us his own record thinking we didn’t know who he was or that he had created it.

This isn’t the same song because I have now overplayed it to high heaven, but here’s another one I like:

Martial Canterel- “New Death” (from Confusing Outsides, 2005)

http://www.mcanterel.net/

News on the street is he’ll be performing live this Wednesday at Weird at Home Sweet Home (131 Christie) with his friend Liz as Xeno and Oaklander. I am so there.

Speaking of Minimal Wave, don’t forget Veronica’s incredible minimal wave radio show on East Village Radio tonight at 10pm (or you can download the show and listen to it later).

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Martial Canterel live video of Windscreen shot on November 12, 2009 at Wierd:

Comment by Stephen

Thanks Stephen! What an awesome video…great work. I love how detailed the shots were…Catching glimpses of the synths in action.

I would love to see a video that includes his graceful transitions between songs. They are my favorite parts of his shows.

Comment by robotronik




Leave a Reply

