bleeps & bloops


One reason I like New Yorkers
September 26, 2007, 8:20 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , ,

I was biking across the Williamsburg Bridge tonight, coming back from my new daily-ground life up in Manhattan and I was busting ass. Most of the time I haul my laptop around plus a book, water, my lock, some clothes, food and whatnot and I move into a higher gear to make the long incline a bit easier- especially on my way back from the big A because there probably were a couple near-death experiences that kinda got the old blood flowing and now I’m crashing from over-stimulation and coffee.

But in any case tonight, maybe it was the coffee or maybe it was just the sense of post-work freedom, I was in one of my lower gears and I was sailing past all the fixies, charging up the bridge. I get whims like this- bursts of energy, invulnerability, invincibleness, what-have-you, and it feels nice to expend my energy while I ride my bike. I guess it’s like running really really hard on a hamster wheel.

In most places I have lived I cycle up a steep hill with all my might and men whistle or cat-call “damn girl”or “can I get a ride?”- hoping I might just pull to the side so they can swoop me off my feet with their love-skills. Other times people just look at me like I’m a quack.

As I cycled up the bridge tonight, leaning hard on my handle-bars, breathing rhythmically, feeling triumphant and just a little quackish, I passed others coming up towards me biking just as furiously and with just as much passion, if not more. It was an army of passionate people, unafraid of over-stimulation and pushing themselves harder just for the sake of it. Maybe I’m romanticizing it but it feels good to be surrounded by strangers who give a shit about their lives and who aren’t settling for boredom.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

“Army of passionate people”…that we are.Be sure to check out your local Critical Mass gathering.
This and every last Friday of the Month.

Thanks,
Jr

Comment by Jr

Thanks Jr. I have been meaning to go to critical mass since I moved to the city in May but I have not attended one yet! Hopefully this month I’ll make it out…

Comment by robotronik

HurraY!

Comment by click

Very inspiring story 🙂 I am still working on getting to that point when going across the Williamsburg Bridge….determination 🙂

Comment by Heather




Leave a Reply

