bleeps & bloops


New illustrations for Rolling Thunder magazine and upcoming book Philip’s Story
January 21, 2009, 1:41 pm
Filed under: Art | Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Since last month I’ve been illustrating two of Carrot Quinn’s stories. “Madge and Pansy” is a fable of two friends in search of “a fantastical city, built entirely of stone mined from the hills of unreasonable expectations.” Its due to be published in the next issue of Rolling Thunder magazine. “Philip’s Story” is the tale of Philip Sockman the sock-monkey and her adventures. Both are tales for adults chock full of imagination, moral fiber and life lessons.

These three drawings are for “Madge and Pansy.” You can click the images to see a larger version.

And these are for “Philip’s Story.” I still have a couple more to upload and I need to complete three more to finish the project.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

oo, the one with the accordian and the hands is my favorite. awesome.

Comment by k'nick

Very nice illustrations! I especially like your use of crosshatching. Do you work with a dip pen, or Rapidograph-style pens?

Comment by Robert

Thanks Robert! I use Sakura Pigma Micron Pens. I love Rapidograph pens as well though I’m a bit too rough on my pens to use those all the time. Do you draw as well?

Comment by robotronik

Hi Robotronik,

Thanks for the information about the pens, I should give the Sakura Pigma Micron a try.

I used to draw all the time, literally day into night. I chose a different path (writing), and unfortunately don’t have the time to draw anymore. I must get back into it! Are you a full-time artist? I quite like your style, since it is clean, and looks like it would reproduce well in different sizes. Keep up the great work!

Comment by Robert

Yes, definitely get back into it! I am a full time artist and a part time web developer. The web development is what pays the bills. I hope at some point that that might change!

Comment by robotronik




Leave a Reply

