bleeps & bloops


My sculpture “The City” is complete.

After plugging away on this piece for a year on and off it’s finally finished. It’s a three dimensional sculpture involving found objects, paper pulp and paper-mache, feathers, scrap metal, acrylic paint, resin and a bunch of other stuff! It’s a little tricky to photograph. I wish I was a photographer at times like this, but I did the best I could.

It’s called “The City” because it’s about my first year and a half living in Brooklyn. There have been so many facets to my experience here. This sculpture is a bit like a beveled stone that is the emotional roller-coaster of my life as of late. This only became clear long after I began the piece and could look at it objectively.

"The City" - Acrylic paint, feathers, paper-pulp, bird skull, rinestones, cut velum, found metal scrap, paper-mache, pen, marker, resin, human hair, velvet, wire. 23" x 25" x 7"

"The City" - Acrylic paint, feathers, paper-pulp, bird skull, rinestones, cut velum, found metal scrap, paper-mache, pen, marker, resin, human hair, velvet, wire. 23" x 25" x 7"

"The City" - Acrylic paint, feathers, paper-pulp, bird skull, rinestones, cut velum, found metal scrap, paper-mache, pen, marker, resin, human hair, velvet, wire. 23" x 25" x 7"

"The City" - Acrylic paint, feathers, paper-pulp, bird skull, rinestones, cut velum, found metal scrap, paper-mache, pen, marker, resin, human hair, velvet, wire. 23" x 25" x 7"

You can follow the progress of this piece-

https://robotronik.wordpress.com/2008/07/26/new-work-on-art-from-februarythe-city/

https://robotronik.wordpress.com/2008/02/09/its-coming-along/

https://robotronik.wordpress.com/2008/01/12/new-riduclous-art-project/

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

wow… wow…..I wish I could see it three-diamentionally. It looks amazing.

Comment by carla davis

Another reason for you to come back to Brooklyn!

Comment by robotronik

Some day in the hopefully not too far future, you know before the apocalypse, or maybe after….
I will be all monetarily solvent and I will beg you to make me one of these amazing objects. You f-ing blow my skirt up every time.

Comment by SaraFace

Aw, you make me all blushy! I am working on some new stuff right now– four 12″ x 12″ pieces. So far the theme is Sci-Fi 3-D landscapes…we’ll see where it goes! They have to be done by the end of the month for a show so I have to bust some ass! I will post pics soon.

Comment by robotronik

wow, beautiful. makes me think, i really do hope we get to cross paths one day soon(er than later).
-nikki

Comment by click clack gorilla

Nikki- Thanks! Actually funny you should mention it, would you care for a visit in September? I think I am planning a European voyage!

Comment by robotronik

Wow. Seriously, wow. I found this with an image search – and that is very cool. I bet it’s magnificent in person!

Comment by Wendy Whipple (@cameragrrl)

Hey Wendy, thanks so much!

Comment by Lark




Leave a Reply

