bleeps & bloops


New Piece for World of Imagination Exhibition in NYC

New Painting for World of Imagination Show

I just completed a new piece for APW Gallery’s “World of Imagination II” group show in Long Island City, NY. Its a show of 12″ x 12″ paintings. I’m pretty excited about my submission. It was originally a part of a two panel piece. Sadly the second panel, also 12″ x 12″ (you’re allowed to submit up to five 12″ x 12″ pieces for the show) was incomplete and I was stressing it so I decided to leave it at home. If the piece above doesn’t sell I’ll reunite them and complete the set. The second one was a mixed-media piece that connects to the above painting. Its the meat-and-potatoes surrealistic bit to the whole thing and done in my typical schizophrenic 3D style. Ah well, such is deadlines.

The opening reception is on March 6th from 6-9pm.

The show will hang from March 6 until March 29.

For more info on the show, visit the APW blog.

This is my first realistic painting I’ve done in years and the first I’ve ever completed using acrylics. Acrylic is so tricky with this type of work. I am really curious about the methods other people use to keep it workable for long periods of time. I used a retarder made by Golden that I bought specifically for this project since I knew workability was going to be an issue for the portrait. Even with the retarder, it was still a problem. It was a combination of fun puzzle and great annoyance to constantly be recreating colors and their slight variations as they dried before I could use them.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

wow, that’s a painting? so good!!! you can has skillz!!

Comment by carrotquinn

Just dropping by.Btw, you website have great content!

______________________________
Start Getting Paychecks For Easy Work That Fits Your Schedule, No Experience Required.

Comment by Zahniya

Thanks very much… I’m glad you dropped by!

Comment by robotronik




Leave a Reply

